EPA to broaden risk review of Asbestos

EPA to broaden risk review of Asbestos

After tremendous pressure from activist groups filing lawsuits in California, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) settled on October 12 and agreed to further research asbestos fiber types and illnesses resulting from exposure to the silicate mineral.

Previous EPA reviews of asbestos published in December 2020 examined the effects of only a small segment of products and uses that contained asbestos. The December 2020 report studied chyrostile asbestos, the only variety of the substance that is presently imported and used in the United States for producing chlorine. 

Activists groups, attorneys, and people suffering from the effects of asbestos exposure saw this study as severe mismanagement on the part of the EPA. As a result, lawsuits filed in California Federal District Court and the Ninth Circuit sought to force the EPA to paint a more accurate picture of asbestos’ effect on peoples’ health throughout the years. 

This push for new research and review will include all six types of asbestos fibers, not just the chryostile asbestos originally studied, and will examine all diseases related to the substance. Asbestos used in the construction of buildings and machinery before it was considered a serious health hazard, known as Legacy Asbestos, continues to affect people across the country and is part of the new study’s focus. 

Asbestos has been linked to a number of different devastating cancers and diseases, including mesothelioma, lung cancer, and ovarian cancer. Asbestos is naturally occurring and was used in ancient times, but came to sweeping popularity in the 1970s for use in construction and the automobile industry due to its fireproofing properties. 

As part of the settlement, the EPA has agreed to complete its review by December 1st, 2024 with regular updates being released every 180 days.

Asbestos exposure injury lawsuits, including those exposed to asbestos in talc products, are still currently being filed for individuals who have been diagnosed with mesothelioma, cancer & other serious injuries.

Dixon, Suzanne. “List of Asbestos-Related Diseases.” Mesothelioma Center – Vital Services for Cancer Patients & Families, 14 Sept. 2021, https://www.asbestos.com/mesothelioma/related-diseases/.

Erickson, Britt E. “US EPA to Strengthen Asbestos Risk Evaluation.” Cen.acs.org, 14 Oct. 2021, https://cen.acs.org/policy/chemical-regulation/US-EPA-strengthen-asbestos-risk/99/web/2021/10.

“Final Risk Evaluation for Asbestos, Part 1: Chrysotile Asbestos.” EPA, Environmental Protection Agency, 30 Dec. 2020, https://www.epa.gov/assessing-and-managing-chemicals-under-tsca/final-risk-evaluation-asbestos-part-1-chrysotile.

King, Daniel. “The History of Asbestos – Importing, Exporting & Worldwide Use.” Mesothelioma Center – Vital Services for Cancer Patients & Families, 26 Feb. 2021, https://www.asbestos.com/asbestos/history/.

“Protect Your Family: What You Need to Know about Legacy Asbestos That Can Still Be Found in Your Homes, Schools, and Workplaces and on Consumer Shelves.” ADAO – Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization, 24 Sept. 2020, https://www.asbestosdiseaseawareness.org/newsroom/blogs/protect-your-family-what-you-need-to-know-about-legacy-asbestos-that-can-still-be-found-in-your-homes-schools-and-workplaces-and-on-consumer-shelves/.

Share

CLIENT REVIEWS

quotation
Tom Lewis

TorHoerman Law was responsible for handling a medical case for our family. I was extremely impressed with their professionalism and ability to react quickly. They also did a nice job keeping us updated with the case throughout the process. This was the first time experiencing a situation like this and Tor Hoerman law did an excellent job from start to finish.

quotation
Jordan Terry

TorHoerman Law is an extraordinary law firm – a firm that truly makes the client’s best interests the primary concern. Their team of personal injury lawyers are experienced, personable, and well versed in a range of litigation areas. They are supported by a dedicated team of staff that are as equally friendly and helpful. I would recommend TorHoerman Law for any personal injury litigation needs.

quotation
Dave Woodley

All of my questions were answered quickly and in a way I could understand. Steve and the entire staff were friendly and professional.

quotation
Jordan Butler

I highly recommend this law firm! The attorneys and staff at THL worked hard, communicated every step of the process, kept me well informed at all times, and exceeded all expectations! The staff is kind, considerate, professional, and very experienced. Look no further, call now!

quotation
Maddy Moeller

Top-notch, hardworking attorneys!

quotation
Karen Hersman

A wonderful and professional legal team. They helped me when I needed expert legal representation! Thank you TorHoerman Law!

quotation
Angel Truesdale

They contacted me the next day. Very nice people!

THANK YOU FOR YOUR MESSAGE

One of our associates will follow up with you shortly